Beyond a Vacation: After Thoughts on an Adventure of a Lifetime

After so much planning and excitement, my spring break was a success! It really is hard to believe that it all happened! I spent my two weeks with some of the most amazing people and we had so many crazy, silly, and amazing stuff happen to us along our adventure.

We started out in Switzerland, in the city where I used to live and relaxed by the lake. We went on an epic scavenger hunt of sorts for the best hot chocolate! Then, we headed to Venice, Italy and enjoyed the canals and got lost along the way. We enjoyed lots of gelato and even got a little tan in the process (that didn’t last long though). We then traveled to Ljubljana, Slovenia where we got to explore the majority of the Western side of the country. We saw the famous Lake Bled and really were immersed in the culture of the region thanks to the many people we met along the way! It was by far my most favorite place we visited! After Slovenia, we travelled to Vienna, Austria and ate lots of delicious food near some beautiful architecture. Then, we celebrated Easter in Prague, Czech Republic. It was beyond amazing and something that I will always remember. We then adventured to Berlin, Germany and were surrounded by so much history in the snow (like I said, the heat didn’t last long). I learned so much and I definitely have a different perspective now! We finished off in Amsterdam and had an epic stay on a house boat while seeing the famous windmills and tulips!

Our trip was filled with so many different cities and projects. But, despite the quick look at the countries, we really did get to learn a lot about the culture and country from the people we met and the museums and sites we visited. One of the most important things I learned was how important language is.  Going to a country and not speaking the same language really requires a lot of patience and respect. I cannot say how many times people spoke English to us. We were truly privileged to be Anglophones and have that advantage. Communication is key and it really truly made me want to be able to speak more languages. I did a lot of pointing and motioning and I really wish I could have had the opportunity to talk with more of the people we interacted with.

As for my friends, they were completely awesome! I will definitely cherish all the memories we made together! They were such adventurers and we had so much fun, whether that was staying in a camp ground, on a boat, or just exploring the world together! If only there were more Mondays to laugh on!

Spring Break Statistics:

  • Miles Walked: 143.9 miles
  • Transportation Used: 10:  Train, mega bus, public bus, car, tram, subway, ferry, paddle boat, the pletna boat, feet
  • Cities: 11
  • Countries: 7
  • Days: 16
  • Best Dish: Weiner Schnitzel in Vienna

It is hard to believe that my semester is almost finished here in France. But, I have enjoyed every moment of it! There are a few pictures below, so don’t forget to take a look! As always, thanks for stopping by my corner of sweetness!

~Emily

P.S. if you are interested in seeing more pictures or hearing what exactly I did, all you have to do is click on the name of the city above, and it should take you to the corresponding page!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment